The Flag of Peru

The Republic of Peru is located on the West Coast of South America. It was once a Spanish colony, but became independent in 1821. The flag that it now uses was formally adopted in 1825. The flag of Peru is a vertical triband with three equal stripes of red, white and red. A Peruvian legend states that when a Peruvian commander landed on the shore to launch a battle for independence, he saw a flock of red flamingoes take flight against a white sky, and those colors became symbolic of Peruvian freedom. The red is also said to stand for the blood shed by patriots in the fight for freedom, and the while stands for peace. While the official flag of Peru is the simple triband, the flag is also often seen with the Peruvian coat-of-arms in the center of the white band. This emblem portrays the vicuna, a llama-like animal native to Peru, as well as a quina tree and a golden cornucopia representing prosperity. Peru’s government actually claims that there are four national flags: the triband, the government and Navy flag, the flag of war, and the standard. Each of them includes the three stripes, but has a slightly different emblem in the center.