The Flag of Panama

Panama is a small country in Central America which occupies the isthmus that connects Central America to South America and includes the Panama Canal. Panama was once a Spanish colony, but became independent in 1821. It joined with Colombia, but split from them in 1903. The flag was adopted in 1904. The flag of Panama uses red, white and blue, inspired in part by its American allies. The upper left-side quadrant is white with a blue 5-point star in the center. The quadrant below that is solid blue. On the right side, the upper quadrant is red, and below that the quadrant is white with a red star, so that the solid fields and the star fields are diagonal from each other. The colors of the flag have various meanings. One meaning is that the red and blue stand for Panama’s two governing parties. The white represents the peace, unity, and equal division of power between them. The blue can also represent the two bodies of water, the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, that touch Panama, and the red can be said to stand for the blood of the patriots that was spilled in the fight for independence. The blue star represents honesty and the red star stands for the authority of the law over all people.