The Flag of Nicaragua

Nicaragua, or the Republic of Nicaragua, is the largest country in Central America. It was colonized by the Spanish in the 1500’s, and much of the population still speaks Spanish and is of Spanish descent. The country achieved independence from Spain in 1821, and adopted the current flag in 1908, and again in 1971. The flag of Nicaragua consists of three equal horizontal bands in blue, white, and blue. In the center of the white band is Nicaragua’s national emblem. The emblem has a triangular field with images of five volcanoes, the rising sun, the rainbow, and the cap of liberty. The five volcanoes stand for the 5 countries that once formed the United Provinces or United States of Central America, a political entity that Nicaragua was part of at various points in history. The cap of liberty is a popular sign for freedom, and the rays of the sun and the rainbow proclaim Nicaragua’s bright future. The country’s name is written in a gold circle around the emblem. The blue-white-blue design has been used in some form by Nicaragua since 1818, with the blue stripes representing the shores of the two oceans that border Nicaragua, and the white strip representing the purity of the homeland.